Clappers

I was raised in a traditional Southern Baptist Church and learned to act with decorum in church. When the choir sang and sang well, they had to feel the positive response from the congregation as no oral commendation was allowed. It just wasn’t. Later, the Baptists became a little more oral in their expressions of appreciation and admiration, and there were some amen’s, not overdone but appropriate. When I decided to allow myself to attend some other Protestant services, I saw that there were several ways that congregations showed their appreciation for good church music. While the amen’s continued, there was also applause, something I rejected as being too close to what we do for good entertainment. I therefore continued to amen good performances, thinking I would never go beyond that way of expressing my approval. However, in my present Metropolitan Community Church, I clap as loud as anyone when either the choir or a soloist thrills me by singing well and causing me to enjoy a worship experience. How dare that I keep to myself the joy that can come from a thrilling song of worship done well.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clappers

  1. Pam Martin says:

    Cultural changes are hard whether church or life. You expressed it well. Pam

Leave a Reply

