Being Alonely (revised)

Being alone is different from eating alone, watching a movie alone, going to bed alone. I can do all of those things without being lonely. However, my having overcome loneliness fails the test on holidays. Somehow or other, holidays regain the upper hand, and I become a holiday casualty. I am not only alone on holidays, but I am “alonely.” There’s a big difference between being alone and being alonely. “Alone” is just being separated from others; “alonely” is an emotional low that cannot be easily handled. My dad was a person who didn’t handle being alone well. When my mother died at an early age, he quickly located her replacement so that he wouldn’t be alone. I chose to be married to a lovely lady who was company to me for twenty-three years although she turned out not to be my partner for life. When we divorced, I worried about living my life alone. It has now been over twenty years of living alone, and I have done it rather well. I am now in my senior years and have concerns about taking care of myself, alone. Most of the time I have few concerns, but those damn holidays are pitfalls I can’t avoid. No more holidays, please, and I’ll be fine. It’s the holidays when I am “alonely.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being Alonely (revised)

  1. Pam Martin says:

    That IS the worst loneliness !! We thought we would reach out to others alone one Thanksgiving, but everyone already had plans. We spent that Thanksgiving lonely. It’s strange to go from reaching out to others out of a giving heart to being needed to be reached out too! God allows us to see both sides. Pam

  2. Barb says:

    Amen! I know exactly what you mean and “alonely” is a lovely way to express it!
    Love ya!
    Barb

Leave a Reply

