Weak Geek

I had the fortune of having a computer programmer as a good friend for a while. He taught me many things about my computer, such as Alt-C to copy; Alt-A to copy everything that is highlighted; how to insert clipart into e-mail, etc. I don’t know much, but what I learned gave me confidence that I could learn more. I feel sorry for people who own computers but are unaware of how to update, how to search, how to restart the computer when it is necessary, or how to restore to a previous date. I know there are many out there who have no idea of a computer beyond how to turn it on and how to send e-mail. Most of these folks are seniors, many of whom have not dared to enter the world of the internet. I’m grateful for my early lessons as I now am enjoying programs like the magic world of Skype so that I can not only communicate but can see my friends and relatives in real time. I certainly don’t qualify as a geek, but I’m glad I know basic “computereze.” When I awaken in the morning, I turn on my computer, check my e-mail, set up my organizer, and clear out my deleted folder. I’m then ready for my day in this twenty-first century.

frog at computer

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

