The Tiger Did It

Almost always, I have two books going at the same time. Usually I am reading one that I have checked out from the library and one that has been loaned to me by the Lawrences, my book benefactors. They buy paperback copies, write their initials so that I know they have read them, and then pass them on to me. I too initial the ones I have read. The library book that I am presently reading is The Life of Pi by Yann Martel. If a book is available in large print, I request it. As usual, when I check out a library book, I divide the number of pages by 29 (the number of days it is on loan) and print out a schedule so that it will have been read by the time it is due. However, I goofed this time as I learned after reading for more than a week that this was a 14-day book. I decided then that I’d better speed up my reading so I could finish it ahead of time. I was racing along until I got to p. 334. As I read the last word on that page, I noticed that the next page was p. 376. Examining the book, I determined that the pages had not been torn out; they had just never been there. I therefore returned the book to the library and reported the error. Since there was not another copy of the large print edition, I checked out a regular copy and will finish it. Had the pages been torn out, I might have been tempted to tell the librarian that the tiger on the boat had eaten the pages.

Life of Pi

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

