The Exodus from Exodus

The latest news from the world of gay reparative therapy is that Exodus International has apologized to its clients for harm they may have done over three decades and shut down. I was a participant in this organization for three years. I too felt condemned by God as Exodus based all of its teachings on the Bible. We prayed, we sang, we confessed, we fasted, we went through prayer therapy, all concentrated on reversing our sexual orientation that was focused on same-sex relationships. I attended these meetings religiously and urged fellow gay men and women to participate. I prayed to God that He would heal me of this malignancy. I had recently left my home and family and was in the process of getting a divorce. The reason I went to “Straight Ahead,” the Exodus International group I attended in Tampa, FL, was in the hope that I could put my marriage back together again. The entire time I attended those sessions I was not involved with anyone sexually; those were the rules. However, after frustrating myself, I realized that I could never be the husband my wife needed and deserved. I finally cried out to God to forgive me for trying to undo what I had become convinced was His creation. I am so glad that Exodus has admitted its mistakes and taken full blame for the harm it did. However, I will readily admit that many of the guys who were attending Exodus with me became lifetime friends, not lovers.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Exodus from Exodus

  1. derbysteve says:

    I’m glad to be one of your lifetime friends!

  2. arcadian48 says:

    Great story, Thom. Now I’ve caught up on all of them that I missed while in computer exile!

Leave a Reply

