I Was Petless

Years ago after I left home and was living alone, some of my fellow teachers were concerned that I had no pet. I had grown up with dogs–two cocker spaniels named Mademoiselle and Lady. The children had had several pets–dogs, a cat, and a hamster. Now that the children were grown, and I wasn’t living with my family, I felt no need for a pet. Therefore I did not take seriously the proposal that I check out a cat who needed a home. I was told that the cat had come into this family when the owner of the cat had married a woman with a six-year-old child. It was he who wanted to part with his kitty as the six-year-old and the cat did not find each other compatible. I warned my teacher friend, who recommended I check out the cat, that I was not about to take the cat unless it was love at first sight. When I met the cat owner, he explained the situation and told me that he was a police officer and couldn’t stay home to protect the cat from the six-year-old. When I was shown the cat, the cat took my breath away. He was not an ordinary cat but a silver-haired Persian. I had expected some alley cat. Still, my resolve not to take the cat was firm until the owner and police officer told me his name: “Trooper.” I took the cat as I couldn’t resist having a beautiful cat named “Trooper” Cooper. Trooper and I were a pair for many years.

persian-cat2

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Was Petless

  1. Tom says:

    Trooper was a beauty……’bout time for another!

Leave a Reply

