East and West

You should know that I am a frustrated amateur meteorologist. When I was in the Navy, I asked to be sent to school to become an aerographer’s mate, the Navy’s equivalent to a meteorologist. However, my English major degree caused the Navy to coerce me into being a yeoman’s mate, a clerk-typist. Moving to Florida certainly enhanced my interest in the weather and the climate as, in Florida, I found there was weather everywhere, particularly during the summer months which was called the “rainy season.” The summer months also included the “hurricane season.” All I wanted was to collect rainfall and swap weather tales with my fellow amateur weatherman friend, Dan Lawrence. Dan and I both know that, when the easterlies are in place, we have wonderfully exciting weather. When the westerlies take over and the wind comes from the Gulf of Mexico, the weather will become hot and humid with puny morning showers rather than the exciting afternoon and evening thunder showers. So long as the weather keeps happening, we amateur meteorologists will continue to make amateur predictions and pray that the winds remain from the south.

rain gauge

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to East and West

  1. Dan says:

    This has been the wettest summer here in a long time. Love “your” new rain collector! 🙂

Leave a Reply

