Un-handy

If there is one thing I am not, it’s “handy.” About a year and a half ago, my dishwasher stopped up. After a wash, the water did not drain out as it usually did. I examined the water standing in the bottom and realized that it was probably my fault for not cleaning the dishes better before putting them in the washer. I dipped out as much water as I could with a cup and accepted the conclusion that I would either have to call a plumber or do without the washer for a period of time. No big deal. I live by myself and can certainly wash dishes in the sink. However, the dishwasher got them so clean and used such hot water. Nevertheless, I abandoned the dishwasher and didn’t use it for a year or so. Eventually, I decided that it was a sign of my procrastinating that the dishwasher had not been taken care of. I decided to look at it one more time before calling a plumber. Some water still stood in the bottom. I then checked out the various buttons across the front of the washer and was amazed to discover one that read: DRAIN. It was under the CANCEL button. I pushed the button, and the water began to drain out. I have now been using the dishwasher again for several months. It’s running very well, and it didn’t cost me one penny.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

