The Monroe Doctrine

I don’t know what Marilyn Monroe’s appeal was to me as a gay man. I was, of course, always more impressed with handsome men like Rock Hudson and Tab Hunter than I was with sexy women movie stars. However, there was a vulnerability about Marilyn that pulled me right into the Marilyn admiration society. My favorite movie of hers was “River of No Return,” certainly not the movie for which she received the most accolades but Marilyn at her natural best. I don’t know how I communicated to my high school students my “love affair” with Monroe, but they teased me about her. I had a good rapport with my students and allowed them the intimacy of teasing without becoming pals. As I approached the end of a school year, I began to put away books and papers, ready to lay aside the intellectual and relax during the summer. When I opened the door to my classroom the last day of the school year, I found propped up on the board a large poster picture of my idol, Marilyn Monroe, with a note written in red: To Thom, xxx M. M. I had it framed.
DSCN0167

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

