Southern

I’ve noticed that when I am writing or speaking and am relaxed, that I drop back into my southern speech patterns. As you may know, I was raised in the small town of Clinton, South Carolina, and I came to Florida originally with all sorts of pronunciation and language choice oddities. For instance, I had never used the term “hi” to greet someone in passing; we always said “hey,” which, in west-central Florida meant “stop, I want to talk to you.” When we were in an automobile, and the inside became too warm, we would ask that someone “crack the window.” We South Carolinians seldom said that “something was over there” but “it was over yonder.” I’ve come a long way from those old patterns of speech, but alas I occasionally hear sounds come out of my mouth that certainly did not originate in the state of Florida. The most recent incident when my language slipped into reverse occurred when I wrote someone who had just visited friends in California, and I said, “I’m sure you had a mighty good time while you were there.” I think they understood what I was saying, don’t you?

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Southern

  1. arcadian48 says:

    You sound just fine to me. You may have to make some adjustments in Greece…

  2. Tom says:

    I’m not sure how a Floridian sounds…it seems that most of us are from somewhere else. Do I sound like an Ohio’n, Indiana’n, Michigander, Iowa’n, Illinois’n, Floridian, Tennessee’n?

  3. Bill Martin says:

    Being new to FL in 1974, it was at church I first heard from Thom the expression “See you Sunday week” instead of “See you next Sunday.” That was a head-scratcher to me!

Leave a Reply

