No Underwear

By the time I get to the end of this writing, you are probably going to think that I am some kind of a nut. Well, that may be true, but this conversation actually took place. I had just learned that my ex-wife was going to take me back to court for additional alimony. Since I had no attorney when we divorced, I felt that I probably should hire one this time. An attorney friend of mine declined because he didn’t handle family law but urged me to contact an attorney in his office who did. When I called the attorney he had recommended, he sounded very pleasant and said he could see me right away as, “it just so happens that I have a free day in the office. However, I’m just wearing jeans.” Jokingly I added, “Well, I’m in Bermudas, and I’m not wearing any underwear.” He then replied, “I don’t know how to respond to that.” I said, “I’m 67 years old. You don’t have to.” When I arrived at his office, he came out and greeted me wearing his jeans. I then said, “I still have my Bermudas on, but I put on some underwear.” His reply, “Well, I took mine off.” The lawyer, who had been told by his law partner that I was gay, was pulling my leg and turned out to be a very good friend and a very capable attorney.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Underwear

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Great story, Thom. Life is too great not to have fun. I know several people who need to realize that. You are definitely NOT one of those!
    Bob

  2. haha I often say something obscure during my first conversation to gauge their reaction. It tells us what people are made of. It is a rare, but welcome response when they play along rather than look at me funny. Great story man.

Leave a Reply

