Royalty

It was the day after I arrived in Amsterdam for the first time to meet my friend whom I had met on the internet. His question, “What would you like to do?” I thought that it was his decision to make since I knew nothing or little about this place. Nevertheless, I said, “Go to see the tulips?” He agreed and off we went to Keukenhof, the picturesque tulip gardens not a long distance from Amsterdam. As soon as we entered the gardens, we were surrounded by tulips, daffodils, and hyacinths of every color and variety. They stretched in droves in every direction. I had never seen tulips of such size and colors. They were magnificent. What I didn’t realize was that the main event of the day would not be the tulips but the appearance of both Prins Willem and his Argentine bride-to-be who only recently have become the king and queen when Willem’s mother, Queen Beatrix, stepped down. They had come to the garden to plant a tree in the Prins Willem exhibit. We happened to be close enough to take this priceless picture of royalty in 2001.

MVC-350F

About Thom

I am an 85-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment