Socially Secure

When I celebrated my 62 birthday on March 20, 2000, I realized that I was old enough to begin drawing Social Security. I also knew that the longer I waited, the more my monthly payments would be. I was therefore in no big hurry to start those payments as I was then receiving my Florida retirement and paying my bills. When I discussed this matter with two of my same-age friends, they urged me to go ahead and apply for the Social Security as there is no guarantee of longevity and, besides, I had already dealt with cancer twice. So, on April 29th, a Friday, I called the Social Security office and discussed the situation with an employee of the service, a delightful lady. After giving her my qualifications, she assured me that I qualified and asked if I would rather come in to the Social Security office or do the proper requirements over the phone. I asked her which she recommended to which she replied: “Oh, honey, over the phone.” The following Tuesday, May 2nd, I received a call from this same lady who had me give her the information she required. She then asked if I had a DD-214 form which certified that I had received an honorable discharge from the  U.S. Navy. I did, and she asked me to bring it to the office, not to wait in line, but to let the desk clerk know that she was expecting me. When I arrived at the office, I was taken directly to her. She told me then that, since I had called in April, that I would also receive my payment for April as well as the month of May. I received my first check three days later. Who says that the Social Security Administration is not on the ball? They certainly were with me.

untitled

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Socially Secure

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Excellent story. I have never regretted my decision to take SS at 62.

Leave a Reply

