Margaritaville

I am fortunate that I have never had a strong drive to imbibe alcohol. My parents had no alcohol in my home when I was growing up, but I was destined, nevertheless, to try out my ability to drink and to enjoy it. My absolute first occasions occurred when I was in college. I played in a dance band and was first offered a beer at a music gig. I gladly accepted the bottle of beer and was terribly disappointed that it tasted so bad. It was supposed to taste good. That probably was the only beer I’ve ever had. My next venture was with mixed drinks such as Seagrams Seven and 7-Up. That mixture caused me to throw up in the sink of my college dorm room when I got home from the party where I had imbibed. Later in life, when I became involved in a relationship with someone who drank socially, I joined in with a vodka and cranberry mixed drink. Because my partner and I never lived together, I never drank every day, but I certainly drank fairly often but always just one. When that relationship deteriorated, I stopped drinking Cape Cods (I was told that’s what they were called). Today I am not a teetotaler, but I seldom drink–perhaps a glass of wine occasionally and a margarita when I go to a Mexican restaurant.

Budweiser

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Margaritaville

  1. arcadian48 says:

    I’m in stride with you, Thom. I have 4 brothers who all drink beer regularly. I drank beer ONE time when I was in my 20’s and then had the harrowing experience of driving home. I’m lucky no one was hurt. I always said that my drinking, the rest of my life, was limited to a glass of wine or two per year. Lately, that has shrunk to zero, pretty well. On some special occasion, I would have wine, but so very seldom. I like the taste of wine ok, but not beer or hard liquor. I guess I’m just a boring old guy.
    Bob

  2. Mary Anne says:

    Same experience with “7 and 7”. YUK!

  3. I’m told that I would be a “happy drunk” rather than sad, or give all my money away! Never have tried it willingly. I say enough things I regret when I am in my right mind! No mind altering stuff for me. Unless someone slips me something again. It is important to have friends one can trust.

Leave a Reply

