Beach Bum

When I was young, I remember dreaming of living in a beach community. To me, that would be a utopian existence. I would have unlimited access to the sun, to the water, and to the open air. My dream came true when the U.S. Navy sent me to Pensacola, Naval Air Station. Believe me, there are few beaches more beautiful than the beaches of northwest Florida, from Panama City to Pensacola and in between. However, I had a rude awakening–I had to work. How unfair! I was living in a beach community, and and realized that I had not thought as a youth of my growing obligations and responsibilities as an adult. Still, I and my family did make beach outings when possible. We would pray for a sunny weekend when we could enjoy the beach. I no longer live in Pensacola, but I still live in a beach community here in St. Petersburg. It is only a short drive to the Gulf of Mexico, but I seldom go out there. The sun is just as tanning, the water is just as welcoming, and the sea breeze does indeed blow, keeping some of the heat away. Now as a retiree, I do not have so many obligations that I could not go to the beach occasionally. However, the beach now is for the young, those who worry little about skin cancers and dehydration. Still, it is marvelous to live in an area where people dream of spending their vacation.

St. Pete Beach

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beach Bum

  1. arcadian48 says:

    My favorite beach pastime here is to arrive at Clearwater Beach about 7 AM, when daylight permits. I park right up by the beach in the lot at the pier. Remove my shoes and walk for an hour on the beach. Return to my car, retrieve my shoes and walk for about 2 hours on the street. I wander through the junk/t-shirt shops, stop for coffee if I feel like it, and definitely enjoy the “scenery”. What a great life we have here.

  2. Tom says:

    Thommy, the beach is not just for the young! Get those sandals out of moth balls…..and don’t forget the sunscreen.

Leave a Reply

