Cinquo de Mayo

I can’t say that this is the most exciting holiday of the year especially since I had never heard of it until a few years ago. It was Carmelita’s restaurant here in St. Petersburg that introduced me to this date on the Mexican calendar. If there’s anything I enjoy, it heading to Carmelita’s for Mexican food served with their incredible chips and salsa. A few years ago, the restaurant started charging for those pre-main dish delights, and people fussed so much that they retracted the policy. Since May 5th falls on a Sunday this year, I’m not sure I will make it to my favorite restaurant where, along with the delicious food, I also enjoy a rare treat–a Margarita with salt. Thank you, Mexico, for giving us such a wonderful tradition of Mexican food. My favorites are chimichangas and the Mexican pizza, which is so large I can only eat half. For those of you of hispanic heritage, Happy Cinquo de Mayo to you!

Carmelita's

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cinquo de Mayo

  1. Bill Martin says:

    Love their chille rellenos dinner with rice and beans!

  2. arcadian48 says:

    I would gladly meet you for dinner there any time. I go to the one on 66th St. I assume that’s the one you’re referring to.

Leave a Reply

