Cleopatra Envy

In 1961, I was teaching in a junior high school while my wife was working at the health department. Because we were employed in different occupations, our friends were different. She would come home from the health department telling me about Bob, the VD man, and his wife Vicki, while I would discuss my conversations with Senor Ortega, the Spanish teacher at school. Well, it turns out that Bob and Vicki invited us to their home for dinner. Since I had never met either of them, I sensed that the evening would be easier for my wife than it would be for me. Sure enough, after the introductions, I found myself searching for topics of conversation with Bob as Helen and Vicki chatted in the kitchen. Spotting a magazine on a coffee table with a picture of Elizabeth Taylor as Cleopatra, I picked it up and declared, “I don’t care what anyone says. Elizabeth Taylor has to be the most beautiful woman in the world.” Without hesitation, Bob said, “No, she isn’t; my wife is.” Without any further comment, my wife had just been thrown back into third place at best . The evening did not go very well from then on.

Cleo

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cleopatra Envy

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Made me smile, Thom. Keep posting while I’m gone.

Leave a Reply

