A Dove Story

Yesterday I walked outside and found two little “dovettes” sitting on the ground next to their nest which had fallen out of the tree. There was no mother in sight. When I reported the incident to a friend, he suggested we put them in a hanging basket in hopes that the mother would return. I told him that the mother never returns after baby birdlings are handled by humans. He suggested using garden gloves. By the time we got the new home ready, the mother had returned to the babies on the ground. I then proceeded to scoop up both babies as the mother flew away. We hung the new “home” in a Ficus tree. Later, I checked on the nest. The mother had not returned, and one of the babies was standing on the ledge of the basket “threatening suicide.” Since I had to get some shopping done, I left, knowing it was impossible to do more. I was gone several hours and, when I returned, I was amazed to find the babies and mom in the new home. They were still there this morning.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Dove Story

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Glad it ended well. I guess we never know how animals will react to a situation.

Leave a Reply

