Starburst JB’s

Many years ago when I was working for the Get Smart Tutoring Service, I went into homes to test students before they were assigned a tutor. The parents had already indicated the needs of the student, but I would test them to find their comfort levels in both math and language skills. I would then assign them a tutor who matched their needs. The tutor would set up appointment times and go into the home for the tutoring. Most of the time these testings were routine and certainly rarely involved food. However, one day during the Easter season, I made an appointment to test a kid who was having trouble with algebra. During the testing, I spotted some jelly beans in a fancy bowl. The student evidently saw me eyeing the jelly beans as he suggested I try some, which I did. My taste buds exploded with the tart flavor of the candy, and I continued to feed myself until I was embarrassed. When the session was over, the student’s mom came in to ask about the testing. After filling her in, I asked where in the world she had gotten the jelly beans. She informed me that they were usually available only during the Easter holidays. Since then, I have been a Starburst jelly bean predator during Lent, this year being no exception. Next year though, I plan to adjust my purchase time as I found this year that the jelly beans were reduced 50% after the Easter weekend.

Starburst

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

