Tax Shocker

This year when I filed my income tax return for 2012, I received a shock–someone had already filed using my social security number. I immediately called the IRS and was told to file an identity theft affidavit and was advised whom I should contact: Social Security administration, local bank, Equifax, National Trade Commission, and the local police. Of course, when you call these various agencies, you are put on hold which means that I spent the next few days on the phone, waiting. I never thought I would be a victim of this crime, but I have now learned that the Tampa Bay area is the United States center of identify theft crimes involving income tax fraud. Recently, NBC’s “Rock Center” did a very thorough expose regarding this crime, and the program focused on the Tampa Bay area. Kate Snow, who narrated that part of the broadcast concerning identity theft, said there is very little you can do: file early, don’t give out your social security number when it isn’t necessary, and call the IRS if you are expecting a refund that doesn’t arrive when you expect it. I guess I was lucky in that I owed this year. I’m not sure that’s luck, but it may have prevented my hyperventilating more than I did.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tax Shocker

  1. arcadian48 says:

    That’ll teach you to stop giving out your SS number in those dens of iniquity!!!

  2. Bill Martin says:

    Only if the thief would have paid your tax bill! 🙂

Leave a Reply

