Farkle

There are only a couple of things I resist doing that many of my friends enjoy: watching TV with commercials and playing games of chance. Friends recently taught me a lesson that playing games, even games that require no intellectual stimulation, can be a way to spend a delightful evening. When I was invited to go out for a birthday dinner and play games afterwards with the Lawrences and Martins, I was not exuberant about the plans for the evening, but I was willing to give it a go and felt that I could control myself if I ended up being bored. That was not to happen. The dinner was excellent and started things moving in the right direction. On the way home from the restaurant, we stopped and I was allowed to pick out a Village Inn birthday pie to be eaten with coffee after our game. I chose was a key lime pie. The game was just a simple roll-the-dice game, and I will admit that I started the game wondering how I would fake saying I had had a good time when I hadn’t. Surprise! Not only did I enjoy Farkle, but I won. The evening taught me that serendipity experiences can happen especially when in the company of good friends. I did not have to fake my enjoyment but will long remember the evening playing a game I didn’t think I wanted to play. I’m grateful I have friends with whom I can do a variety of things, including playing a game of rolling dice.
About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farkle

  1. Dan says:

    Glad you had a good time, we always enjoy the pizza and movie nights at your house too. Maybe we are all just good company! 🙂

  2. Bill Martin says:

    Amazing how OLD dogs can still learn new fun things to do. Maybe chasing a ball is next? (It will be when grand kids get ask!) 🙂

  3. Pamela Martin says:

    Staying flexible is good for all of us. Fun is what you make it. We still look forward to pizza and movies at your house, that never gets boring.

Leave a Reply

