Summer Enjoyment

As a college student at Furman University in Greenville, SC, I wanted to earn money and spend summers away from home. When I discovered a publication in the college library entitled “Summer Employment Directory,” I determined that I would find the perfect summer job. Scanning the list, I found that many of these kinds of jobs were in resorts and entertainment complexes. Over a period of weeks, I applied for jobs at fourteen places where I thought it would be interesting  to work. I received acceptances from nine of the fourteen. At that point, I began writing to those that appeared interested in hiring me and questioning them about the salaries, policy regarding tips, and length of employment. I gradually rejected six of the nine but ended up with jobs in New York state, Maine, and Massachusetts that sounded as though they would be exciting and profitable summer jobs. I wrote all three, asking specifically how much money I could expect to earn during the summer. The Cape Cod place wrote back that tips would be pooled. The resort in Kennebunkport, ME, said that earnings depended on the ability of the waiter. Sunnybrook Acres in Lake George, NY, said I could expect to earn over $1000. I went to Sunnybrook and had an exciting and successful summer as a singing waiter.

(click to enlarge)

img153

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Enjoyment

  1. tedciske says:

    Thats awesome Thom!!

    Great pic!!

  2. Dan says:

    Next time we go to The Bear or maybe Pizza Hut!

  3. arcadian48 says:

    Great posting, Thom. You are such a versatile guy…

Leave a Reply

