Septuagenarianism

Today is my 75th birthday. Yikes! I am a septuagenarian plus five. I had to change my profile on this blog site (I want to be honest). Seventy-five years ago today in Clinton, South Carolina, my mother, Virginia Kershaw Cooper, and my daddy (I always called him that), Thomas Bobo Cooper, celebrated the birth of their first-born son, Thomas Bobo Cooper, Jr. I think Daddy was working for Greyhound at that time although I remember him most as working with Merita bread and Pepsi-Cola. It is amazing that I have so much of my life history in print as I began journaling in 1954 and did so off and on until the present. After graduating from Furman University in 1961, I entered the United States Navy, was sent to the naval air station in Pensacola, Florida, where I met Helen Simpson, who was to become my wife and the mother of Boh, Todd, and Robin. We divorced in 1986, and I have lived without a partner since that time. Life is good. I’m so grateful for health, home, and happiness. I’m also grateful for my friends, my church, and my family. My three grandchildren–Luke, Gracey, and Carli–are the joy of my life. Thank you, Lord, for allowing me seventy-five years on this earth.

Birthday ani

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Septuagenarianism

  1. Jana says:

    I wish you a very wonderful 75! 🙂

  2. Timothy Tran says:

    Happy. Birthday. My Teacher
    Seventy five is a big number , but with all of the experienced you have been though life and teached the children became very successful. However , let celebrate the birthday and enjoy it.
    You student

  3. Pam Martin says:

    Amen to your sentiments. I have known you over half your life and you have been a blessing to me. Pam

  4. Thanks for the upbeat spirit. I am turning 70 on Saturday. I wrote about my feelings on my blog today and afterward looked to see what else was out there. I met you! Congratulations on turning 75 and still being active and encouraging. Take care!

Leave a Reply

