The Weather Outside is Frightful

When I was growing up in South Carolina, one of my dominant thoughts during the winter months was: is it going to snow? I had never seen a very heavy snowfall but dreamed of the possibility despite the record for snows in the Piedmont region of the state where I lived. I studied the cloud formations and frequently was certain that snow was imminent. It seldom came. Instead we had overcast skies and temperatures in the 40’s–cold but not cold enough to snow. In January, 1961, I decided to enlist in the U. S. Navy and see the world. I was given the option: boot camp in San Diego, CA; or boot camp in Great Lakes, IL. I chose Great Lakes. Why? Snow, of course. Did I ever live to regret that choice? The winter  of 1961 in Great Lakes was one of the coldest on record while, ironically, the big snows that winter fell in the Northeast. I was chilled to the bone, so chilled that I raised my fist like Scarlet O’Hara in “Gone With The Wind” and vowed, “As God is my witness, I’ll never be this cold again. If I have to cheat, steal….I’ll never be this cold again.” So ended my romance with snow and guess what, Reader…my last Navy duty station was in Pensacola, Florida.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Weather Outside is Frightful

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Couldn’t agree with you more about cold weather. I try NEVER to visit family in Indiana except in the summer.

Leave a Reply

