Family Pride

On February 15, 2013, I attended what was probably my first ever rock concert. I never joined the rock music craze. In fact, I fussed about rock music’s having ruined Broadway shows which had to cater to that type of music, veering away from the lyrical and melodic tunes by musicians such as Rogers and Hammerstein. However, I felt some obligation to attend this concert as my son Todd was playing saxophone and doing vocals with this band. He was excited so I made up my mind to go. First of all, Ruth Eckerd Hall, the auditorium in Clearwater, FL, was nearly full. Backing up the band, there was a 30 or 40 piece orchestra plus a laser show the likes of which I’ve never before seen. The first time my son added to the band’s performance was with an alto saxophone solo. Wow, Todd. You’re better than I realized. Then later when he soloed vocally I was doubly amazed. When did this son of mine develop such a professional voice? Of course, the other members of the band were outstanding too, but for some reason, I spent most of my time watching my “beloved son, in whom I am well-pleased.” It was a terrific concert which I didn’t want to end, and I saw my son eating up the praise in a gracious manner. How well I remember little Todd. How proud I am of big Todd.

VIP pass to Alan Parsons concert

This is my backstage pass.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family Pride

  1. arcadian48 says:

    You have every right to be just as proud as you wish. I totally understand the feeling. When your child makes his way in the world in a manner which is totally him or her, and shows abilities that amaze you as a parent, it’s such a great moment.

Leave a Reply

