Toting

As you know, I am 74 years old, reaching for 75 in two months. One of the challenges of aging is toting–mostly groceries. When I go to the grocery store, I take with me these cloth tote bags (thank heavens for whoever invented these things). I have several and bring along as many as I think I will need. That very much helps then with the groceries I buy that must be taken out of the store, put into the car, and taken inside the house when I reach home. If I have done only run-to-the-store-for-a-couple-of-items shopping, the transfer is quite manageable. However, if I have done my major shopping, the task can be quite challenging. The plastic bags don’t always slip into the tote bags easily so I sometimes have groceries spilling out into the car. If I have bought milk or juice or tea, they are heavy and will require several trips back and forth to the car when I get home. Thank heavens I don’t have any stairs I have to climb or I’d really be in a pickle. I guess I’m just asking for a little sympathy or empathy. What happened to the bag-boys who used to tote the groceries for “old folks?”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toting

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Of course I’m not NEARLY as old as you are, Thom, but I feel your pain. I live on the 2nd floor of a 3 story unit. I have 6 of the reusable bags in my car, and I always take at least 2 into the store. The one difference is that I refuse to use our elevator when I come home with groceries, or actually any time I return home. My reason is that I refuse to give in to age until absolutely necessary. That day will probably come, though, perhaps when I’m REALLY old, like…75 or so!

  2. Tom says:

    Publix will ‘tote’ your groceries to the car! Re-open your back slider so your trips from the car to the kitchen is shorter (you could get one of those cart thingies for that end of the trip). We (Wil) could help with the slider fix!

  3. Dan says:

    I don’t know about your but I am a little put out when the young girl at Publix ask if she can help me to my car! Do I look too feeble to push a cart?

Leave a Reply

