Paying It Forward

Have you noticed when you’ve been standing in line at the grocery store that only when the clerk announces the total amount owed do many grocery shoppers begin to hunt for the means by which he/she is going to pay?  It is almost unbelievable to me. Did they not think they were going to be expected to pay? Were they daydreaming about the meal they would prepare with these foods? Did they think someone was going to walk up and offer to pay it for them? To add fuel to the fire, I have also been in line with someone whose bill has already been totaled when they recall that they have coupons — somewhere. The search then begins. I seldom voice my displeasure during these events, but I’m sure some have seen me roll my eyes. I fully expect someone to utter sincerely the following words: “Oh, you mean I have to pay?”

Recently I went to Winn-Dixie and bought $61.00 worth of groceries. I knew that I was going to pay by check so I wrote the check before leaving home except for the amount. I had my driver’s license in my wallet as I presumed the clerk would ask for identification. However, my efficient handling of payment for my groceries was delayed by the young lady preceding me who, when the clerk announced her total, began to pat her pockets, searching for the payment. After moments of searching, she announced that she had left her credit card in the car and would be right back.

As a former teacher, I think I’m going to suggest to grocery store managers that they conduct seminars in their stores regarding how customers can pay their grocery bill in an expeditious manner.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paying It Forward

  1. arcadian48 says:

    One of my top aggravations in the world right now, aside from the obvious political issues in our country.

  2. Bill Martin says:

    Oh to be like Bobo … always at the ready. Pick you up at 5:00 tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

