Pride Cometh before a Fall

I’m not a great barber shop enthusiast. I go to a regular barber–$12 plus $2.00 tip, and my barber doesn’t take appointments. I’m sure you have the idea now. Sometimes the chatter from the barber bothers me, especially if it’s political and contrary to my political beliefs. However, one day I was leading the conversation, telling my barber about reading that many aircraft crashes were not due to mechanical failure but were caused by the pilot’s not wanting to look bad because he/she had made an error either in the approach or the take off. None of us wants to “look bad,” and we all make mistakes. When I uttered those words, the barber stopped cutting my hair, put down his clippers, and scurried to the back of the shop, returning with a Bible. He said, “I just read scripture that speaks directly to what you just said. It is Proverbs 16:18: ‘Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit …'” I had never thought of that scripture’s pertaining to a pilot who crashes rather than admitting to an error in judgment, but I guess it’s true.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

