Inherited Memorizing Deficiency

Yes, I confess that I have IMD–Inherited Memorizing Deficiency. Reader, I’m sure you must think that I’m going to write about how I can’t remember anyone’s names at my age. Well, while that’s true, it’s not what is on my mind. I was talking with my brother recently, and he mentioned that he was asked to emcee some program which he thought would require his memorizing lines. He confessed to me that he almost backed out of the opportunity because he has trouble memorizing. Wow! It’s in our DNA. I have never been able to memorize. Seeking to reduce my deficiency in that area, I learned that walking helps me. I used to memorize Bible verses when I was teaching a Sunday School class. In order to put the verses to memory, I would go out to the beach and walk while repeating the verses over and over. I did the same thing trying to memorize songs when I performed with the Tampa Bay Gay Men’s Chorus. Once I agreed to sing the song “Tomorrow” with my brother. I ended up having the words printed out in big print and on the floor in front of me. What a simple song; what a memory deficit. It was embarrassing then. Now, I have grown into it as it is expected and excusable as I approach my mid-70’s.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

