The Millennium Teenager

Here we are, having completed our 12th year in this millennium. What in the world can we expect with this “teenage” year? This time last year, I was not anticipating a heart attack that brought me down and woke me up. This year, I am anticipating better things–a continuing improvement in our economy and unemployment rate, visits with my three grandchildren who are also fast-approaching Mr.and Miss Teenager. I pray for health and happiness for myself and for my family in particular but hope that more peace than war dominates this new chance for our civilization. I am grateful for the leadership of our President, and I admire his family and pray for the protection of them all. I pray that racial and gender prejudice will be replaced with a brotherhood for all which we are still being denied despite the election of a black man as president and the acceptance of gays into the military. Altogether I hope this “teenage” year will speak to us all with a fresh voice–a new voice, the voice of the people–red, yellow, black, white, LGBT.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Millennium Teenager

  1. Tom says:

    Very well said Mr. Cooper!

  2. Barb says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

