Epizoolics

Epizoolicks!
I arrived home from my nice cruise through the Panama Canal and breathed a sign of relief. I had not gotten sick as I have done many times in the past. It was the week before Christmas, and I had plenty of things to do to get back into the routine and greet some friends and family. My friend Ed Cureg was in town from Washington, D.C., and spent one night my house. My daughter Robin and my granddaughter Gracey were coming up from Naples on Saturday and meeting me for lunch. My brother would spend Saturday afternoon chatting with me before taking me to a family dinner at his in-law’s home. I was eating it up literally–“eating it up” including the Christmas dinner that could not have been better. However, the “Phantom” was lurking nearby. On Sunday morning when I awoke, I knew something was going awry. I was sneezing and had a hacking cough. By Sunday night and right up through last night, I fought the disease and the insomnia that came with it. Through the week, until I saw the doctor on Thursday, I treated myself.¬† I learned from my doctor, after an office visit, y that I have pneumonia. I will surely be glad when I am well again. This is the pits. Did we have Christmas this year?

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Epizoolics

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Sorry things got worse after I saw you on Sunday. Hope you have a speedy recovery.

  2. Tom says:

    Get well soon….we have a lot of catching up to do!

  3. Pat Lanter says:

    Soooo sorry that the ol’ Epizoolicks gunned you down! It got me two weeks ago, I had the kind with chills, fever, and body aches like I was being run through a meat grinder, and all I wanted to do was take 800 mg Motrin (left over from an old Rx Marshall had for back pain in 2011) and SLEEP!… I self-treated myself to some extent..Laura panicked when my fever wouldn’t come down, told me I was “geriatric” and she needed to call 911. I told her in no uncertain terms that she was NOT to do that; so instead she called Marsha and told her she thought I was dying or something to that effect, and poor Marsha headed down here in the middle of the night! Needless to say, I was not happy about that, but appreciated her coming of course. It all only lasted about 24 hours thankfully. Hope your pneumonia will be getting better very fast. Did the doctor put you on an antibiotic? Glad you went to the doctor! The hospitals around here are SRO with no beds due to flu at an epidemic level. Just shows that the flu shot is not necessarily guaranteed to keep one healthy..so many different strains are running around out there from what I read. I am very bad about overdoing and staying up too late at night, so my immune system was probably somewhat compromised. I have now changed my ways, or at least trying to…Had to go get Laura yesterday and bring her here, she was so sick (nausea and dizziness) that she wasn’t even able to take care of herself, and was getting dehydrated. She is feeling somewhat better tonight, has been able to keep some liquids down. Never a dull moment!! Will be thinking of you and hoping you will be feeling much better very soon. Take care of you.

    Happy New Year!

    Love, Pat

    _____

Leave a Reply

