My Christmas Grinch

It was early December, 2011, and I headed out to buy Christmas gifts for my three grandchildren–ages 6, 6 and 4. Shopping is not my favorite thing to do, but Christmas shopping for the grandkids was a joy. It was wrapping of the gifts that would frustrate me most. I had decided to give them each two gifts. I was pleased with the gifts that I found which included a functional camera, an electronic game, a very nice doll, and assorted books and games as the second gift. Carli’s gift included the doll and had to be mailed so I took care of that task just after I bought the gifts. The other four would sit on the kitchen table awaiting my urge to wrap the gifts.

Several evenings later, just as I sat down to dinner, there was a knock at the door. At the door was a young man who had helped me with some yard work once before. He was wearing a backpack and asked if he could wash my windows for $10.00. I told him that I didn’t need my windows washed but that I would give him $10.00 to help him out, since it was Christmas. I invited him to come inside while I went for my wallet. I found that I did not have $10.00 in my wallet, but I did have a ten in a file drawer. Returning to the kitchen, I gave him the money and wished him a happy Christmas. He then asked if I could give him a ride to a motel where a friend was staying. I agreed if he would wait for me to finish eating dinner, which he did. I wish that were the end of the story but, several days later when I finally got around to wrapping those gifts for the kids, I couldn’t find the camera and the electronic game? Had I put them somewhere? When I realized that they had been taken by the young fellow I had befriended, I was amazed at the audacity of his thievery. I replaced the gifts and worked hard not to let someone whom I had trusted ruin the joy of Christmas season.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Christmas Grinch

  1. James says:

    King James Online

    very nice information about christmas shopping. for the grandkids was a joy At this holiday time, I want to wish all of my readers a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! I am so grateful that you have allowed me to share my thoughts with you for over a year now.

  2. DOwgB says:

    245696 804237This is such a great post, and was thinking much the same myself. Another great update. 537149

Leave a Reply

