Georgia on my Mind

My brother and I have “wonderful” telephone arguments, usually about politics. He is a staunch Republican while I am a dedicated Democrat, and an enthusiastic supporter of President Barack Obama. My brother and his wife reside in Perry, Georgia, a nice little southern town (and I stress the word SOUTHERN). As I have written before, although our arguments may get loud and strident, when we finish our phone call, we say, “I love you,” and mean it. I have warned my brother that Georgia is a dangerous state politically and that he and his wife should consider a move to a more rational state, like Florida (which, by the way, supported Obama in the recent election). I was rather smug in that suggestion until I heard from my college friend in Carrollton, Georgia, who wrote regarding her vote for Barack Obama for president. She gently reminded me that there are rational thinkers in Georgia and that I should not stereotype the population of that state. Therefore, I apologize for slandering the name of Georgia, admitting that I should not have condemned the entire state based on the opinions of my brother. I’m sorry, Georgia. I’m sure you’ll do better next time.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Georgia on my Mind

  1. Pamela Martin says:

    Just because we disagree with your politics,does not make us irrational. Have you considered it could be the other way around? ( said with a smile ). Your sister in Christ, Pam

Leave a Reply

