Movies Aren’t Better Than Ever

At one point in our cinema history, there was a saying, “Movies are better than ever.” Oh that that were true today. I don’t go to the movies any more, but I do watch most movies that I consider worth watching. I watch them in my home on DVD. Because I don’t want to miss a single word, I watch all movies with the subtitles on (you can’t do that at a downtown theater). Still, either movies are more confusing than ever or I’m becoming less smart. Flashbacks are now frequently the dominant feature in many movies. Evidently, everyone in the world must use profanity as everyone in the movies does. I’m told that Hollywood doesn’t dare give a G rating to a film any more or that is an almost certain death sentence. I love clever movies, but I don’t need “The Matrix” to prove to me that a movie can be clever. Give me a good story, good acting, and a denouement that is satisfying. Let’s have more movies like “Doubt” and “Dear Frankie,” two of my favorite movies, and we will know that Hollywood has gotten the word.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movies Aren’t Better Than Ever

  1. Pat Lanter says:

    Oh, how I agree with you!! I thought the same thing you did: that maybe I’m missing something or I’m just a lot less smart than I gave myself credit for…while both of those things may be true, I still know what I enjoy and what I don’t! Oh, well there’s always my DVDs of the old classics that I re-enjoy over and over! Love you and hope you have a GREAT Thanksgiving whatever you do. Marsha, Chuck and I are going to Wilmington and go out to a nice buffet at one of the hotels on the beach with Mark, Louise and their family, that way nobody has to cook!!

    Pat

    _____

Leave a Reply

