Rainy Days and Mondays

I was born with far from a perfect teeth. I learned early in life that I had four teeth, two on either side of my front teeth, that had no permanent teeth coming behind them. Dentists were perplexed, saying that I should keep those “baby” teeth as long as they lasted as they didn’t know how they could replace them with something affordable that would look good. When I went into the Navy, one of the requirements was to have your teeth checked. When the lieutenant who examined my teeth saw those four teeth, he said, “Why hasn’t someone pulled those?” When I gave him the explanation I had always received, he said, “Well, I’m going to pull them, and they’ll have to do something.” And he did; and they did. He was chewed out, but the office went to work to see what they could do to replace those teeth. What they came up with was a permanent bridge that hooked onto my front teeth. “Permanent” is not the best word to describe that bridge as I had trouble with it later on. One of the facings kept coming off which prevented my saying plosive “s” or “f” sounds. Try that sometime.

It isn’t often that one can discover something funny in a dentist office. After four years, I was discharged from the Navy and had to go to a civilian dentist. Eventually that “permanent” bridge needed to be replaced. Dr. Easter was quite nervous about getting the new bridge to set, connect, and look natural. As he was working in my mouth to cement the new bridge in place, “elevator” music was playing in the background, and Karen Carpenter was singing “Rainy Days and Mondays.” When she came to the words “Nothing ever seems to fit,” Dr. Easter and I both burst into laughter.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

