At First Glance

I have a belief that the first time you encounter someone who then becomes an acquaintance that you never see them exactly the same ever again. That first look is almost totally a physical look although a smile or grimace may affect your perception positively or negatively. As you get to know a person, the person’s appearance will change based on his/her personality and the situations you come in contact with together. All the while, the person you see is becoming less physical and more and more a combination of looks and personality. An example of such a change in perception occurred when I was in high school. I met a lady with whom I would become a co-worker at a grocery store. When I first met her, I unconsciously told myself that she was one of the most unattractive women I had ever encountered. As our work together progressed, her appearance was softened and enhanced by her gentle, encouraging spirit and our growing friendship. By the time I went off to college, this lady had become beautiful in my eyes.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to At First Glance

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Nice thought. It is true about appearance transitions into looks and personality. That’s a good thing. Otherwise, no one would ever choose to be my friend!!!

Leave a Reply

