You Gotta Have Heart

Have you ever wondered if perhaps you have become jaded beyond the ability to sympathize or empathize with people during a disaster? During the Katrina disaster, I found myself eventually becoming irritated at the continued media coverage which appeared to be saying, “Are you sorry enough that this happened?” I felt some of that same emotional numbness during the funeral events following the death of Michael Jackson. However, my ability to feel emotions was most tested when I headed to Washington, D.C., just after the Vietnam memorial had been dedicated. I had read over and over of people touching the wall and reacting emotionally. As I planned to visit the wall, I thought: What if I don’t have an emotional reaction to this memorial? Am I not a patriotic American who loves his country and respects highly those who have given their lives for my freedom? I was almost afraid to make the trip for fear I would fail myself. As I neared the wall, I stared at the memorial stretching so far, crammed with the names of those who died for me and for all Americans. The tears came, and my belief in myself was restored, knowing that I cared because they paid the ultimate price, dying to preserve our freedoms.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Gotta Have Heart

  1. ss33702 says:

    Mr. Cooper – Nice post on this fitting day 09/11/2012.

Leave a Reply

