Have Clock, Can’t Travel

Years ago I bought a little travel alarm clock. It was compact, folded up nicely, and served me well …. until I packed it too close to the top of my luggage, and it got smashed. The smashing put a tiny crack at a diagonal from 10:00 to 4:00 on the dial. It was not running. I shook it, talked to it, but to no avail. Evidently, the clock’s workings had been damaged so I stuck it in a drawer by my bed, unwilling to admit that it was fatally wounded. One day, I opened that drawer and saw the clock lying there, still tick-tockless. I picked it up, and pressed on the plastic cover right in the middle where the hour hand, minute hand, and second hand connect, and suddenly the life that had left it returned, and the red second hand began its jerky journey around the face of the clock once more. I would like to say that it has been running ever since, but every once in a while I bump it, and it stops. Once again I renew the process that re-energized it before. Sometimes it works; sometimes it doesn’t. It is now sitting on top of my computer mini-tower, and it is running after several days when it was silent after I accidentally backhanded it from its perch. I hope this time it’s at least good for the life of the AA battery. I can’t take it on a trip, but I can enjoy its timely presence here at my desk.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

