Senior One and Senior Two

When I started high school as a freshman in 1953, I entered knowing there was a big reward at the end of my senior year — a trip with my classmates to Washington, D.C. It was a tradition. During my high school days, the class had many fund-raising activities to insure that all 64 of us could afford to make this wonderful trip to the nation’s capital. It involved traveling by train, bus, and boat. Most of us had never been out of South Carolina, and many had never traveled without their family accompanying them. The trip included not only sightseeing in the capital but also, on the way up, visits to Richmond, Virginia, and the Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland. Of course, the time in Washington included tours of the Capitol, the White House, the Smithsonian, and other symbols of our nation’s heritage. It was a marvelous experience and the culmination of my high school education.
Two years ago in 2010, I was 72 years old, and I made my second senior trip to Washington, D.C. However, the “senior” meant something different than it did on the first trip in 1956. In many ways, the trip was even more meaningful as I soaked in the history and grandeur of our nation’s capital as a mature adult. One of the places I was determined to visit was the Newseum which was not in existence during my first trip. It turned out to be one of the highlights of the visit. Here’s a picture of me taken at the Newseum fullfulling my dream of being a Capitol Hill reporter.

(Click to enlarge picture)

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Senior One and Senior Two

  1. arcadian48 says:

    nice story, my friend. I made my one and only trip to DC last year. I agree with what an amazing experience it was.

Leave a Reply

