Crying in the Chapel

When my friend Joe asked if I could meet him for lunch at the Red Robin restaurant in Wesley Chapel, I said “Sure,” knowing that I have a car with a GPS which can guide me anywhere. I was destined to learn that it could direct me anywhere except to Wesley Chapel. Wesley Chapel is a rapidly growing community just north of Tampa, FL. When I found that my GPS had only heard of Wesley Chapel, NC, I went to Mapquest and got information with a notation that Mapquest couldn’t find the exact address of the Red Robin restaurant. My last option was to go to the Red Robin website and check out directions on their site. The directions I found were different from my Mapquest directions but seemed reasonable. After all, I was sure I  would find a road sign pointing to this place. So, I left St. Petersburg with a little extra time just in case Wesley Chapel became elusive. When I came to the interstate marker that read WESLEY CHAPEL, I pulled off I-75 and drove for a mile or so. Something wasn’t right as I was running out of civilization. So, I reversed myself and returned to I-75, figuring I must not have gone far enough north. When I came to the San Antonio exit, I knew I had gone too far. How frustrating, but back to “Wesley Chapel” I went, stopping just off the interstate and calling my friend. When he answered, I said, “I’m looking for the Red Robin, and I’m on CR-54. Is that where I should be?” “No, he replied, “you should be on CR-56. You’re too far north.” Returning to I-75, I headed south again and turned off where Joe told me to turn off although the road sign there indicated I was headed to Tarpon Springs and New Port Richey. I knew those communities were east of where I was; I wanted to go west. Despite the markers, I was soon cruising along the main road into Wesley Chapel and there was the Red Robin restaurant. There really is a Wesley Chapel in Florida, but I think it may be like Brigadoon.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

