Hello, Young Lubbers (revised)

I am a mild-mannered person, soft-hearted and gentle. I love the creatures of the earth, even the black snake that scares me occasionally as it darts into the bushes in my yard. I can remember finding worms eating my tomato plants, taking them and laying them in the middle of the road in order to give them a fighting chance for survival. However, lately I have been seen stalking the yard with a pair of garden clippers usually used for cutting back weeds and such. I am not looking for weeds to snip. I am, in fact, seeking a large yellow and black grasshopper called the lubber. I cannot remember ever seeing these huge insects before two years ago when I caught one gnawing on an Amaryllis bulb after it had decimated the leaves of the plant. I was horrified. Killing something this big is like killing a squirrel. Nevertheless, I feel no compunction about sentencing these lubbers to the death clippers. I hope lubber season is over soon as I don’t relish continuing to scan my yard for these hungry critters that bring out the killer instinct in me. Attached is a picture of lubbers “lubbing.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello, Young Lubbers (revised)

  1. arcadian48 says:

    I’d make a comment about the “position” shown, but I won’t. I’m just too dignified for that! 🙂
    Look forward to seeing you on Sunday 8/5.

Leave a Reply

