Sky Lightning

When I had my house built in 1989, one of the items I wanted to include was a skylight. I also wanted a fireplace (or thought I did), but the builder said I had to make a choice: fireplace or skylight. Fortunately, I chose the skylight in my living room. The original skylight was plastic and, while it was clear when it was installed, it became opaque over the years, baked by the sun. While I had heard others complain about leaking skylights, mine was sturdy and leak-proof until that summer morning when I heard a strange sound. There was a tropical storm way out in the Gulf, nowhere near us. However, the storm had spawned a squall line with pounding rain and strong wind, and I was to learn that this storm was the cause of the strange noise I had heard. The rain and wind abated quickly as I walked the house looking for the source of the noise. When I walked outside, I saw nothing but, when I turned around, there were leaves on the floor in my house. Then I looked up — no skylight! I learned later that a downdraft from the storm had popped the skylight in half and had lifted it from the roof. I went into action, hoping to cover the hole in my roof before we had more rain. I could not have been more lucky as the rain held off until I had a blue tarp laid down and anchored to cover the opening until a new skylight could be installed. The replacement skylight was glass. It has now been seven years since the old one was replaced, and the skylight is still as clear as it was the day it was installed. I can once again hear raindrops, occasionally see the moon and stars, and every once in a while watch lightning streak across the sky. You can’t do that with a fireplace.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sky Lightning

  1. sweetpea2200 says:

    I totally want a skylight, now. I love sitting out on the porch and watching the thurderstorm roll in, but a skylight would be awesome to watch the lighting from.

Leave a Reply

