My Lexus as a Yacht

If there’s anything I am, it’s loyal. Knowing that four choirs were depending on attendance at a fund-raising musical event that hoped to raise enough money for the choirs to travel to a music conference in Denver, I hopped into my car with two friends and headed out in the “rain of the century” caused by tropical storm Debby. Actually there was a break in the weather as we left, but the torrential rains re-commenced before we reached our destination at the First Presbyterian church on Beach Drive. Yes, unfortunately the church is not far from Tampa Bay. Suddenly we were driving through water deep enough that the warning beepers on my car were indicating that I was about to drive into a wall. Sphincters tightened as we plowed on, hoping we would not be swamped. Fortunately, we weren’t, but our fate was uncertain there for a while. Due to the weather, the concert was not well-attended, and I’m sure the love offering was not as much as they had hoped to make, but the program was well worth the life-risking drive over. My Lexus, which became a very nice yacht, carried the day.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

