Eek! A Spider! (repeat)

I’ve always enjoyed games, especially games that involved intellect and not just chance. Three of the games I most enjoyed when I could find a good, competitive partner were Jotto, Scrabble, and Boggle. I learned to adapt Boggle to my classroom by drawing the squares on the blackboard so that teams within the class could compete. Jotto, which involved a writing implement and paper, could be played almost anywhere. Scrabble required a Scrabble board (at least before the advent of computer games) and was usually played seriously. It was after I retired and became interested in computers that I discovered Spider Solitaire. I read recently that it may be the most played of all computer games. I have found it both addictive and challenging. By the way, I always play the Intermediate level, having long ago dismissed the lowest level as too easy and the highest as impossible. The middle level is winnable and keeps my wits sharpened. My stand right now is at 53%; I’ve been as high as 54%. I find myself playing Spider Solitaire when I have a few minutes left before church or when I’m waiting on a friend who is a bit late. It soothes my impatience and makes me use my mind to reason out the best solution. And, on top of playing a challenging game, the computer goes into a little fireworks demonstration when a game is won. You don’t get that in Scrabble.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eek! A Spider! (repeat)

  1. Issa says:

    Thom, I just read all your entries and as usual enjoyed them. I owe you a letter, but I don’t come upstairs where the computer is too often. My knees don’t want to go anywere especially upstairs. Hope you are doing fine. I am so-so. Your entry about the coffee you drank as a youngster sounds like what we drank and I still prefer a cup of milk with a little coffee, no sugar since I am diabetic but use Equal.. I will write again when I can come upstairs. Right now have to check on todays meal which consists of puertorican steak and rice with pidgeon peas. YUM

Leave a Reply

