Suddenly

I love a good mystery. I just finished reading David Baldacci’s Split Second. I read it quickly (having an LP print copy helped a great deal), and I was entertained all the way through. However, the gimmicks used by Mr. Baldacci didn’t sit well with me. You don’t suddenly discover the murder weapon under the hydrangea bush because hydrangea turn different colors based on the nutrients in the ground. I call mystery books like that, “suddenly” books. They are not very clever but present “suddenlies” every other chapter or so. Give me a good mystery story that makes sense and all of the parts add up at the end. John Grisham is another mystery writer who writes compellingly. My gripe with Grisham is that he chases rabbits and that he never pens down. If you want to read good mysteries, read the novels of Nelson DeMille and Ken Follett. DeMille will not only give you a good, intellectual mystery story, but he will also give you a good laugh. Ken Follett will not only keep you reading (for MANY pages, he will also teach you the history of the world.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Suddenly

  1. Bill Martin says:

    Credible fiction rooted in history — that’s the good stuff! Pam and I have been enjoying “Foyel’s War,” a detective mystery series that spans the British involvement and experience in WW2. Quite insightful. It is a Netflix streaming PBS series.

Leave a Reply

