Catastrophic Weekends

It seems that every single catastrophic event in my life has occurred on the weekend. If I have a stomach ache, it is on the weekend. If I have a dental problem, it occurs on the weekend. For some reason, it appears that weekend maladies have always been a part of my DNA. Several weekends ago, I enjoyed church, watched three of the Sunday news shows and a ballgame between the Rays and the Tigers. Because it was the weekend, I should have realized that catastrophy was lurking around the corner. In some ways, I learned of the problem the same way that I’m told a frog can be cooked: by gradually increasing the temperature of the water. After I enjoyed watching the ballgame on TV, I walked past the thermostat in the hallway and was amazed to see that the temperature in the house was 88 degrees. Yes, the air conditioner was not working, and the only way to get any technician out to take care of it on a Sunday would be to declare an emergency and pay the extra home visit fee. Yes, I spent a mighty warm night in bed, but I did survive until Monday when a tech installed a new capacitor.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catastrophic Weekends

  1. Bob says:

    The Rays and…the Lions? 🙂

Leave a Reply

