Going It Alone

Being single involves, of necessity, eating alone, watching movies alone, going to bed alone. I have learned to handle all of those things without being lonely most of the time. However, my having overcome loneliness fails the test on holidays. Somehow or other, holidays regain the upper hand, and I become a holiday casualty. I am not only alone on holidays, but I am “alonely.” There’s a big difference between being alone and being alonely. “Alone” is just being separated from others; “alonely” is an emotional low that cannot be easily handled. My dad was a person who didn’t handle being alone well. When my mother died at an early age, he quickly located her replacement so that he wouldn’t be alone. I chose to be married to a lovely lady who was company to me for twenty-three years although she turned out not to be my partner for life. When we divorced, I worried about living my life alone. It has now been over twenty years of living alone, and I have done it rather well. Still, as I grow older, I wonder how I will care for myself, alone. I still think that I’ll be okay most of the time, but those damn holidays are pitfalls I can’t avoid. No more holidays, please, and I’ll be fine. It’s on the holidays that I am sometimes“alonely.” Nevertheless, I hope you have a wonderful 4th. I’m going to a baseball game.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going It Alone

  1. Wilfredo says:

    Have you tried spending holidays with your grandkids and enjoy?

    • bobosbest says:

      Wilfred, I would love to do that but, because of my divorce, I am not invited to see the grandkids as my wife will be there and doesn’t choose to be around me.

Leave a Reply

