The Journalist

In 1954, when I was sixteen years old, I received my first diary. It was a one-year diary and allowed for only several lines of writing each day. I wish now I had written more, but I wrote in that little book the rest of that year. At the end of the year, I purchased a journal that allowed for more writing and was good for five years. That journal took me through my college years. Eventually I found journals that allowed me to write a full page, which I found sometimes to be a challenge but still I persisted, not always writing every day but remaining consistent enough to see a narrative. It is now 2012, and I write every day but not in a book but on my computer. Each morning, I paste the past day’s writing into the journal writing I started over 50 years ago and read through what I did on this day over the years. I read about my education, my children, my hopes and dreams, my fears. I’m so glad that I didn’t give up writing in my journal as now I have the unfolding story of my life.

(Click to enlarge)

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journalist

  1. pilgrim52 says:

    Reblogged this on Pilgrim Outskirts and commented:
    I love stories about how people start journalling. I got my first journal when I was 12 I think. Of course it had a lock and key and I wrote in it every night. I wish I still had it but destroyed it in a symbolic gesture to a new life. Silly of me. I would like to have revisited my 12-year-old self. I like this man’s journals, especially the Silent Secretary notebook. These are rare and sell quickly on Ebay.

Leave a Reply

