Filling the Void

When I faced this summer as a retiree, I realized that some of my closest friends were going to be away for the summer, leaving me with a void in my social activities–especially breakfasts, lunches, and dinners with friends–and more time than I needed on my hands. I had scheduled gym classes on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. I also had bowling scheduled for every Saturday morning. However, my bowling partner will be traveling later this summer with his family for several months. That meant that Tuesdays and Thursdays were danger days, days when I could sit around and basically waste time. So, I pondered a plan and came up with a decision to apply for volunteer work at the public library. I was proud of my application when I turned it in as I had done it as a PDF file that allowed me to type it. Sure enough, I was “hired” and began work several weeks ago. Each new day has added to my enjoyment and my education regarding books, CD’s, DVD’s, etc., and how they are organized and disbursed. When I was growing up, there was a little tag in the back of each book to be stamped with the due date. No more–items are scanned and protected. I love having the library be my personal babysitter and hope that I am contributing to the efficiency of this wonderful organization.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

