A Free Car Wash

I am a frustrated meteorologist as is my friend Dan who e-mails me with rainfall reports from his home twelve miles away. If we see clouds building up, we either call (if the situation is in need of immediate reporting) or e-mail if the process is going to take time. Dan’s wife Glenda says that he is irritable when there is a 50% chance of rain, and the sky is cloudless. I identify with his mood swings. Checking the weather one day last month, I learned there was only a 10% possible chance of rain, typical of rain chances in west central Florida in May. During the evening weather broadcast on Channel 8, meteorologist Steve Jerve reported heavy rain showers north of the Tampa Bay area but nothing close by. Thirty minutes later, I heard the first raindrops on my skylight. As I headed to the front door, the rains came down and came down and came down with wind and lightning. Grabbing my umbrella, I headed into the storm to my car, drove out into the energizing rainstorm but soon realized it was raining so hard that I had to avoid some intersections because of ponding. The rains fell for a good hour. It was wonderful–a 3.4 inch downpour and a free car wash as well. What more could I ask?

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

